Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN)

Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia

About Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN)

Established in 1997, Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) is a private university owned by Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB). UNITEN has 2 campuses — the main campus is in Putrajaya and the other is in Bandar Muadzam Shah, Pahang.

The Putrajaya campus offers courses in engineering, computer science, information technology, business economics, energy economics, language and social sciences and graduate studies. The second campus in Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah (KSHAS) offers courses in accounting, finance, marketing, human resources, business and foundation and diploma studies.

World-class facilities abound at UNITEN, with the availability of a mini-stadium, Olympic-sized swimming pool, tennis court, football field, gymnasium and the Sports Arena which has 11 indoor courts for futsal, netball, sepak takraw, basketball and volleyball.

The institution also has a comprehensive healthcare facility with the ILSAS dispensary at the Putrajaya campus and Muadzam Shah Hospital at the KSHAS campus. There is also a library with a 24-hour study area, on-campus Wi-Fi available for students and round-the-clock security services.

Dubbed the National Energy University, UNITEN is one of the country’s leading energy education providers. With over 20 years of experience, it continues to be a top choice for engineering, computer science and information technology courses.

Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) Ranking & Reputation

UNITEN is a top 15 university in Malaysia according to Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings 2023. The institution is also among the top 150 in Asia according to Asia QS World University Ranking 2023. UNITEN graduates also have a track record of securing jobs even before graduating with an employability rate of 94%.

The university is rated 'Berdaya Saing (Competitive)' in the latest SETARA rating. 

Campus Location

Located in the country’s federal administrative centre, the UNITEN Putrajaya campus took shape in 1995 involving 3 stages of development and construction, with an overall area of 483 acres. Its close proximity to the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) also adds to its accomplished standing.

At the Putrajaya campus, there are 3 major government hospitals — Serdang Hospital (3 km), Kajang Hospital (9 km) and Putrajaya Hospital (11 km), plus several private hospitals. There is also an on-campus health and medical centre.

UNITEN Putrajaya campus is home to the schools of Engineering, Computing and Informatics, Energy Economics and Social Sciences, and Graduate Studies.

UNITEN also has another campus located in Bandar Muadzam Shah, Pahang.